Built in 1894 in the historic fishing village of Steveston, the Gulf of Georgia Cannery was the largest building of its kind (earning it the nickname, “The Monster Cannery”), and the leading producer of canned salmon in British Columbia. It stopped canning in the 1930s, but remained active as a net loft, fish depot, and later as a herring reduction plant, until it ceased operations in 1979. Today, the non-profit Gulf of Georgia Cannery Society operates the national historic site on behalf of Parks Canada.
The fully restored historic cannery is now home to a museum presenting the history of Canada’s West Coast fishing industry, through guided tours and interactive exhibits. Visitors can experience the sights, sounds and smells (!) of the cannery and its history, while exploring the permanent exhibits of the historic salmon canning line and the herring reduction plant. The Cannery also offers a feature exhibition which changes annually, and is host to many community and holiday events, including the annual “Pull of the Net” multicultural celebration featuring artists and performers from the diverse communities which make up Canada’s west coast fishing heritage.